My Journey of Mistakes to Experience as a developer :  Dev Retro 2022

My Journey of Mistakes to Experience as a developer : Dev Retro 2022

In this blog post, I will be sharing my side of the story about how this year went for me, what achievements I have been successful to get, what were the ups and downs in my professional life as a Full Stack Developer and how this year changed my entire professional carrier.

Who am I?

I am Sushil Bhattarai, an 18 years old Computer science student who wants to be a self-learned highly skilled tech enthusiast. I am a javascript as well as PHP developer and can develop apps websites and designs some graphics stuffs too.

What were the loopholes in me?

I was very bad at managing my stuff and also at time management. I was not been able to properly manage my studies and my coding skills. Due to this, I got very bad results in my annual exams for Grade 11 in Jan 2022. I was more kind of an introvert and very bad at dealing with clients and got some rejections for the development of the project too.

I was spending a lot of my time on social media and was very active there due to which I had very less time to study and code which I regret the most.

What have I built this year?

My Projects of this year were:

  1. Ragat Nepal versions 2 and 3

  2. Nasa's Space App Challenge 2022

  3. Ride On - A free ride-sharing App.

  4. OnServic - A platform to hire service Providers

  5. Consultancy Website

This year was a rollercoaster for me as I saw many ups and downs in my life. I had planned a lot for this year and a lot has got successful but still, some parts were missing. Starting from the first month of the year January was a bit of a scary and nervous month for me as my recent project Called Ragat Nepal was in limelight and everyone was talking about it.

Ragat Nepal - A free app to find blood donors easily.

Ragat Nepal was a social and free App that is available on the Google Play Store that helps blood-needy people to find blood at the click of their hand, the app gave users the choice to list their names as donors or not and for blood-needy people, our app acts as a mediator for so.

I have the responsibility to maintain the app's integrity and also collaborate with Social Organizations to collect blood donors' data so that I can integrate it into my app.

The First 2 months were hectic for me as I had to update my app as new organizations were interested in collabing with us and want their logo to be placed inside.

Ride On - A free Ride Sharing Platform

In my country Ride Sharing concept is very new and we want to capitalize on this section due to which I and my friends came up with the idea of Ride On. This app's development is not finished and is still in the developing phase.

OnServic - A platform to Hire Service Providers

OnServic is a newly launched app that helps to find any service providers across the nation easily and effectively. The main Challenge for this was I and my team had to go to the onfield for research purposes so that we can find the loopholes and work on that area.

Consultancy Website

I was approved by a consultancy to design a website for them using react and they want to post some news and create forms. I used mongo DB as my Database for the project and React Js for the frontend development.

Hackathons

And I participated in different Hackathons this year and was a new experience for me to showcase my skills to the world. Recently I participated in Nasa's Space App Challenge 2022 where I tried to track the International Space Station in 3D.

And also I participated In Mongo Db * Dev.to Hackathon but the result was not in my favor but also it was a learning experience for me.

What challenges did I face this year?

This year was quite challenging for me. This year I had to deal with a lot of issues related to my professional as well as personal life.

  1. Time Management

    I was the worst at time management. I mostly get failed to submit my project on time, and always exceeded my deadlines and as a result, I had a very bad experience dealing with clients and so on.

  2. The balance between Personal Life and Professional Life

    As a developer, the thing that most hit me was that I was not been able to make a balance between my professional life and my personal life. I was not able to give time to my family members.

  3. Complex Projects and new technologies

    It was much tough and challenging for me to adapt new technology as per each client's demands but somehow I managed to do so and now they are happy with my work.

What did I learn this year?

This year was a lot of informative and learning year for me as I have learned a lot and came to about new things that I was not familiar with.

  1. Team Effort

    Previously I used to build projects alone but this year taught me that sometimes unity makes great work and I worked together with my friends to build awesome stuff.

  2. Time Management

    I was very bad in Time Management up to the half of this year and I had not been able to complete my tasks on the proper time. AsI I am in Grade 12 I had a lot of problems managing my studies and doing code and learning new tech skills.

  3. Designing

    I was bad at designing before the start of this year but now I have somehow been able to design some better and I had designed some cool posters for some clients too.

What were my achievements?

  1. My project has been awarded as the national-level Project from my school and I got a certificate from my school for that.

  1. I successfully build 4 websites for clients and 6 apps that are listed on google play.

  2. I was the runner-up in the 1st District Level Web development Competition organized By the Computer Association Of Rupandehi, Nepal.

  3. Got a certificate for participating in Nasa's Space App Challenge 2022

  4. I was able to monetize my skills and signed a contract with my client for his recent project.

The techs that I learned this year.

  1. Mongo Db

  2. Php - Laravel

  3. Next Js

  4. Flutter

  5. Linode

Future Plans

I am a computer science student studying in grade 12 and for the next year, I have some things on my mind. I will join Computer engineering Course so that I can increase my computer-related knowledge and skills more precisely and work on my loopholes. As a developer I have a big plan for the upcoming year, I hope to continue learning and growing as a developer and I am more interested in learning new techs.

Summary

Throughout my journey as a developer, I had to face numerous challenges from being rejected by some clients to monetizing my skills at a young age and learned a lot and improved a lot of things in me. This year I published 6 Apps in the Google Play Store and Some of them are performing very well. These experiences have helped to build my skills and to face numerous such challenges in the future.